

THE COUNCIL OF THE REGIONAL MUNICIPALITY OF PEEL INAUGURAL MEETING

November 17, 2022

1. CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL

Aretha Adams, Regional Clerk, assumed the Chair and called the Inaugural Meeting of the 2022-2026 Council of the Regional Municipality of Peel to order at 9:37 a.m. in the Council Chamber, Regional Administrative Headquarters, 10 Peel Centre Drive, Suite A, Brampton.

2. INDIGENOUS LAND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

Aretha Adams, Regional Clerk, read an Indigenous Land Acknowledgement.

3. INTRODUCTION OF 2022-2026 REGIONAL COUNCILLORS

Janice Baker, Chief Administrative Officer

Councillor Navjit Kaur Brar City of Brampton Councillor Patrick Brown City of Brampton Councillor Brad Butt City of Mississauga Councillor Bonnie Crombie City of Mississauga Councillor Dipika Damerla City of Mississauga City of Mississauga Councillor Stephen Dasko Councillor Christina Early Town of Caledon Councillor Chris Fonseca City of Mississauga Councillor Pat Fortini City of Brampton Town of Caledon Councillor Annette Groves Councillor Joe Horneck City of Mississauga Councillor Dennis Keenan City of Brampton Councillor John Kovac City of Mississauga Councillor Matt Mahoney City of Mississauga Councillor Sue McFadden City of Mississauga Councillor Martin Medeiros City of Brampton Councillor Michael Palleschi City of Brampton Councillor Carolyn Parrish City of Mississauga Councillor Martin Reid City of Mississauga Councillor Mario Russo Town of Caledon Councillor Rowena Santos City of Brampton Councillor Alvin Tedjo City of Mississauga Councillor Gurpartap Singh Toor City of Brampton Councillor Paul Vicente City of Brampton

4. COMMENTS FROM CHIEF R. STACEY LAFORME OF THE MISSISSAUGAS OF THE CREDIT FIRST NATION

Chief R. Stacey Laforme of the Mississaugas of the Credit First Nation, gave a land acknowledgement and prayer; shared poems of remembrance, leadership and common ground; and congratulated the newly elected Regional Council Members.

5. OFFICE OF REGIONAL COUNCILLOR - FILING OF CLERK'S CERTIFICATES AS TO ELECTION OF MEMBERS OF REGIONAL COUNCIL

The Regional Clerk confirmed that the Certificates as to the Election of all Members of Regional Council were filed by the Clerks of the three local municipalities: the City of Brampton, the Town of Caledon and the City of Mississauga.

The Regional Clerk confirmed that she received signed acknowledgements from all Regional Councillors confirming that they reviewed the Regional Council Code of Conduct and understood their obligations to adhere to the Code.

6. "DECLARATION OF OFFICE" BY REGIONAL COUNCILLORS

Aretha Adams, Regional Clerk, administered the Declaration of Office to the Regional Councillors.

The Council of The Regional Municipality of Peel was declared organized for the term November 15, 2022 to November 14, 2026.

7. APPOINTMENT OF REGIONAL CHAIR

The Regional Clerk advised that she had appointed a Scrutineer, Sarah Ban, Senior Manager, Deloitte LLP, to assist with voting by lot, being the drawing of the names in the event of a tie. Deloitte LLP are the External Auditors for the Region of Peel.

The Regional Clerk declared the nominations open.

Moved by Councillor Parrish **Seconded by** Councillor Groves

That Nando Iannicca be appointed to the Office of Chair of The Regional Municipality of Peel for the term of November 15, 2022 to November 14, 2026, or until a successor is appointed in accordance with the Municipal Act, 2001, as amended, and the Regional Municipality of Peel Act, 2005.

No further nominations were received.

Resolution Number 2022-788

Moved by Councillor Medeiros Seconded by Councillor Dasko That nominations for the Office of Regional Chair be closed.

Carried

The following motion was voted upon:

Resolution Number 2022-789

Moved by Councillor Parrish **Seconded by** Councillor Groves

That Nando Iannicca be appointed to the Office of Chair of The Regional Municipality of Peel for the term of November 15, 2022 to November 14, 2026, or until a successor is appointed in accordance with the Municipal Act, 2001, as amended, and the Regional Municipality of Peel Act, 2005.

In Favour	N.K. Brar; P. Brown; B. Butt; B. Crombie; D. Damerla; S. Dasko; C. Early; C. Fonseca; P. Fortini; A. Groves; J. Horneck; D. Keenan; J. Kovac; S. McFadden; M. Mahoney; M. Medeiros; M. Palleschi; C. Parrish; M. Reid; M. Russo; R. Santos; A. Tedjo; G.S. Toor; P. Vicente	Total 24
Opposed		
Abstain (counted as a no vote)		
Absent (from meeting and/or vote)		

Carried unanimously

Aretha Adams, Regional Clerk, declared Nando Iannicca the Regional Chair for the term November 15, 2022 to November 14, 2026.

8. "DECLARATION OF OFFICE" BY REGIONAL CHAIR

The Regional Clerk administered the Declaration of Office to Regional Chair Nando Iannicca.

9. PRESENTATION OF CHAIN OF OFFICE AND GAVEL TO THE REGIONAL CHAIR

Mayors Brown, Crombie and Groves presented Regional Chair Nando Iannicca with the Chain of Office and Gavel.

Regional Chair Nando Iannicca assumed the Chair.

10. REMARKS BY REGIONAL OFFICIALS

Remarks were given by the three local municipal Mayors:

- a) Patrick Brown, Mayor, City of Brampton
- b) Bonnie Crombie, Mayor, City of Mississauga
- c) Annette Groves, Mayor, Town of Caledon

11. CHAIR'S INAUGURAL ADDRESS

Regional Chair Nando Iannicca delivered his Inaugural Address to the assembly.

12. BY-LAW TO CONFIRM THE PROCEEDINGS OF COUNCIL

Resolution Number 2022-790

Moved by Councillor Brown **Seconded by** Councillor Crombie

That By-law 47-2022 to confirm the proceedings of Regional Council at its meeting held on November 17, 2022, and to authorize the execution of documents in accordance with the Region of Peel by-laws relating thereto, be given the required number of readings, taken as read, signed by the Regional Chair and the Regional Clerk, and the Corporate Seal be affixed thereto.

Carried

13.	ADJOURNMENT			
	The meeting adjourned at 10:25 a.m.			
Regional Clerk		Regional Chair		