

Hon. Caroline Mulroney Minister of Transportation 5th Flr, 777 Bay St Toronto, ON M7A 1Z8

October 15, 2020

Dear Minister Mulroney,

As you know, legislative changes were made recently that allow for municipalities to establish automated school bus stop arm camera programs in order to promote the safety of students and their families. The Region of Peel appreciates the implementation of Ontario Regulation 424/20 — "School Bus Cameras" that came into effect on September 1, 2020, which is an important step that your government has taken to allow municipalities to establish these student-focused safety programs. However, there are challenges with the current regulatory environment that stand in the way of successful implementation.

Region of Peel Council has expressed support for establishing a "Made in Peel, No Child Left Behind" automated school bus stop arm camera program and has directed staff to investigate the options, scope, and costs for implementation in Peel. The Region has been working in close collaboration with a number of our stakeholders (local municipal staff, Student Transportation of Peel Region, Peel school boards, and police) to explore a program that would complement traditional police enforcement to help make the roads safer for more than 68,000 students that travel across Peel every day.

Under the current legislation, penalties for illegally passing a school bus are to be laid under the Provincial Offences Act, as outlined in Sections 175 (19) and 175 (20) of the Highway Traffic Act. This poses a significant challenge due to limited court capacity; local courts have indicated that they would be unable to process the volume of violations that are expected to be generated. Due to this constraint, Regional staff are exploring the possibility of laying penalties under an Administrative Monetary Penalties System (AMPS).

On June 6, 2019, Bill 107 – "Getting Ontario Moving Act (Transportation Statute Law Amendment), 2019" received royal assent; however, the sections of this bill that would allow for future AMPS to be developed are not yet in force. AMPS would reduce the burden of an automated school bus stop arm camera program on the court system and would expedite the processing of penalties.

To address this challenge, the Region of Peel recommend that the appropriate sections of Bill 107 be proclaimed and come into force, and further that the Province implement additional legislative amendments to allow the revenue collected under AMPS for stop arm camera programs to be allocated to the municipalities administering the programs.

Nando lannicca Regional Chair & CEO

10 Peel Centre Dr. Suite A, 5th Floor Brampton, ON L6T 4B9 905-791-7800 ext. 4310





Nando Iannicca Regional Chair & CEO

10 Peel Centre Dr. Suite A, 5th Floor Brampton, ON L6T 4B9 905-791-7800 ext. 4310 The Region of Peel appreciates that the Province has initiated consultations with various stakeholders, such as the Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) and the Ontario Traffic Council (OTC), in order to begin the necessary legislative changes to allow AMPS to be used for various electronic enforcement programs in Ontario. We would be delighted to participate in future discussions either directly or through our partners in the AMO and OTC.

We look forward to continuing to work with you and your ministry to support the development of municipally automated school bus stop arm camera programs. We greatly appreciate the legislative changes that have been made so far that have laid the necessary regulatory framework, and we would be pleased to meet with you and your staff to discuss the next steps we have proposed to advance this very important safety opportunity.

Kindest personal regards,

Nando Iannicca

Regional Chair & Chief Executive Officer

Region of Peel

Cc:

Deepak Anand, MPP for Mississauga – Malton
Rudy Cuzzetto, MPP for Mississauga – Lakeshore
Sylvia Jones, MPP for Dufferin – Caledon
Natalia Kusendova, MPP for Mississauga – Centre
Kaleed Rasheed, MPP for Mississauga East – Cooksville
Sheref Sabawy, MPP for Mississauga – Erin Mills
Amarjot Sandhu, MPP for Brampton West
Prabmeet Sarkaria, MPP for Brampton South
Sara Singh, MPP for Brampton Centre
Gurratan Singh, MPP for Gurratan Singh
Nina Tangri, MPP for Mississauga – Streetsville
Kevin Yarde, MPP for Brampton – North

Councillor Johanna Downey, Town of Caledon, Ward 2 Councillor Chris Fonseca, City of Mississauga, Ward 3 Councillor Michael Palleschi, City of Brampton, Wards 2 and 6 Councillor Karen Ras, City of Mississauga, Ward 2

