

Allan Thompson Mayor

December 1, 2020

Sent via E-Mail: minister.mah@ontario.ca

Honourable Steve Clark Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing College Park 17th Floor 777 Bay Street Toronto, ON M7A 2J3

RECEIVED

December 1, 2020 REGION OF PEEL OFFICE OF THE REGIONAL CLERK

RE: COMPOSITION OF REGIONAL COUNCIL IN PEEL REGION

I am writing to advise that at a Special Town Council meeting held on November 30, 2020, Council adopted a resolution requesting that an extension to the deadline in Section 218 of the Municipal Act regarding a review of Council composition be granted to March 31, 2021.

The resolution reads as follows:

That in consideration of the current state of the COVID-19 pandemic, The Town of Caledon request the Honourable Steve Clark, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing provide an extension to the Region of Peel for its Council composition under Section 218 of the Municipal Act deadline from two years of the date that Regional Council was organized in 2018 to March 31, 2021;

That the Minister be further requested to not make regulation regarding Peel composition until after that time;

That the Minister be requested to respond by December 16, 2020 being the day prior of the Public Meeting scheduled by Peel Region; and

That a copy of this motion be provided to Peel Region Council and the City of Brampton and City of Mississauga, and all MPP's representing Peel Region.

For more information regarding this request, please contact the undersigned by email to <u>mayor@caledon.ca</u> or by phone at 905.584.2272 ext. 4155.

Thank you for your attention to this matter and I look forward to your response to our request.

Sincerely,

all I Ha

Allan Thompson Mayor

REFERRAL TO
RECOMMENDED
DIRECTION REQUIRED

Cc: Sylvia Jones, MPP – Dufferin Caledon, <u>sylvia.jones@pc.ola.org</u> Deepak Anand, MPP Mississauga – Malton, <u>deepak.anand@pc.ola.org</u> Rudy Cuzzetto, MPP – Mississauga – Lakeshore, <u>rudy.cuzzetto@pc.ola.org</u> Natalia Kusendova, MPP – Mississauga – Centre, <u>natalia.kusendova@pc.ola.org</u> Kaleed Rasheed, MPP – Mississauga East – Cooksville, <u>kaleed.rasheed@pc.ola.org</u> Sheref Sabawy, MPP – Mississauga – Erin Mills, <u>sheref.sabawy@pc.ola.org</u>



Allan Thompson Mayor

Amarjot Sandhu, MPP – Brampton West, <u>amarjot.sandhu@pc.ola.org</u> Prabmeet Sarkaria, MPP – Brampton South, <u>prabmeet.sarkaria@pc.ola.org</u> Sara Singh, MPP – Brampton Centre, <u>SSingh-QP@ndp.on.ca</u> Gurratan Singh, MPP – Brampton East, <u>GSingh-QP@ndp.on.ca</u> Nina Tangri, MPP – Mississauga – Streetsville, <u>nina.tangri@pc.ola.org</u> Kevin Yarde, MPP – Brampton – North, <u>KYarde-QP@ndp.on.ca</u> Kathryn Lockyer, Interim Commissioner of Corporate Services, <u>kathryn.lockyer@peelregion.ca</u> Peter Fay, City Clerk, City of Brampton, <u>peter.fay@brampton.ca</u> Diana Rusnov, Director, Legislative Services and City Clerk, City of Mississauga, <u>diana.rusnov@mississauga.ca</u>

THE CORPORATION OF THE TOWN OF CALEDON